Did You Know About This New Illinois Car Seat Law?
It was always told me when my girls where younger that they should stay rear-facing in their car seats until they turned two. It was highly recommended by my pediatrician that I follow that procedure. And now, it's not just a suggestion. It's an Illinois law.
Since 2011, the Academy of Pediatrics have been trying to get this law passed in the state of Illinois. According to their research, children are "75 percent less likely to die or be severely injured in a crash if they are riding rear-facing,” the academy stated.
Right now, the law says
...advises parents to keep their toddlers in rear-facing car seats until age 2, or until they reach the maximum height and weight for their seat. It also advises that most children will need to ride in a belt-positioning booster seat until they have reached 4 feet 9 inches tall and are between 8 and 12 years of age.
The reason for the law to be enforced, children who are in a rear-facing car seat at the recommended age will less likely die in a car accident if there should ever be one. Make sure you know the car-seat laws in your state.
For more information about the new Illinois law, CLICK HERE.