A New Smoking Ban Goes Into Effect Immediately
There will be a new smoking ban for Illinois that goes into effect immediately when smoking in your car.
The governor of Illinois signed a bill that makes it illegal to smoke in a vehicle with a minor in the car (anyone under 18). The new law will be one of many that will start in 2020. According to WREX, if drivers are found smoking in a car with a minor you could be fined upwards of $100. If you are caught a second time you could see a fine up to $250.
According to House Bill 2276, it will be illegal to inhale, exhale, burn or carry a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe, weed, plant, regulated narcotic or other combustible substance in a motor vehicle containing a person under 18.
The bill goes on to state that it doesn't matter of the windows are open or closed, either way it will be illegal to smoke with a minor in the car.