The United Way of Adams County and the Rotary Club of Quincy honored Phil Conover with the 2020 Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award on Tuesday, September 1, at the Rotary Club’s noon meeting.

The Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award was established in 1998 by United Way of Adams County and Rotary to recognize an individual who exemplifies the highest standards of community service. The award is named for the first recipient, Joe Bonansinga, who was more commonly known as “Mr. Quincy.”

A panel of individuals representing United Way Board members and members of the Rotary Club evaluated the nominations for this year’s award. “Each one of the nine nominees this year is a shining example of why this community is so incredibly special. Mr. Conover, and his long history of community service, shows us best how one person can make a difference in their community. Difficult as this process is each year, all nominees would probably tip their cap to Mr. Conover, given the length and breadth of his overall service,” said Jeremy Wingerter, Executive Director, United Way of Adams County.

KICK FM, #1 For New Country logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Phil Conover rose to the top among the nominees for the impact he has had over more than 50 years volunteering for different organizations at various levels within the Quincy community. Those organizations include:

 Adams County Together Task Force

 Blessing Hospital

 Community Foundation of Quincy Area

 Friends of Unit #4

 Great River Economic Development Foundation

 John Wood Community College

 Quincy Area Chamber of Commerce

 Quincy Notre Dame Foundation

 Quincy University

 United Way of Adams County

The past recipients of the Joe Bonansinga Community Service Award are:

1998 Joe Bonansinga “Mr. Quincy”

1999 Harry and Carlene Geisler

2000 Carla Gosney

2001 Rocky and Rhonda Murry

2002 Rev. Tim White

2003 Tony and Signe Oakley

2004 Carolyn and Steve Hagood

2005 Chuck Scholz

2006 Hermann Schneidmann

2007 Darrell Peacher

2008 H.W. Knapheide

2009 Lee Lindsay

2010 Kathy Ridder

2011 Dr. George Meyer

2012 Terry Myers

2013 Becky Albert

2014 Michael Klingner

2015 Brad Billings

2016 Paul Brown

2017 Jeff Spear

2018 Mike Elbe

2019 Charles C. Doan

More From KICK FM, #1 For New Country